I heard it said this past weekend that “we are worse sinners than we think we are, and Christ is a better savior than we think He is.” This struck me as a very profound thought…and very true. As I have reflected on the sinfulness of my own heart the last few days, I have begun to appreciate Paul’s words in Rom 7:24, “Wretch man that I am, who will set me free from thebody of this death.” It is a scary thought to look into the mirror at one’s own heart. I am inclined to think that mine is blacker than most. For those that know me they would be inclined to think me a good person, kind and respectable, but if they knew the thoughts that went on under the surface I think they would be some what shocked.

As I was driving across town earlier today I was reminded of a verse in Genesis 6, “Then the LORD saw that the wickedness of man was great on the earth, and that every intent of the thoughts of his heart was only evil continually.” It occcured to me that my heart was no different than theirs. The depravity of the human heart has not changed over the centuries, just the degrees that we are willing to manifest it. I am indeed thankful God placing authorities over me that would function as a means of restraining the wickedness of my own heart. Indeed, if we were honest with ourselves we would realize we all like Paul are helpless to escape the darkness of our own depravity. We need someone else to pluck us out.

And the only one who is capable of saving us from ourselves is God. It should be no suprise then that when Paul recognized the depth of his depravity that he responded in praise to God for His gift of salvation. “Thanks be to God through Jesus Christ our Lord!” (Rom 7:25) And so to as believers as we recognize more and more the depths of our sinful hearts, we should become more and more grateful for the grace of God in our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ.

