The other day I wrote about the nature of true love from a biblical perspective. I indicated that true love is demonstrated in self-sacrifice. In an attempt to guard against people who might think that because they do a lot for others or give a lot to others that they were being loving, I mentioned that love is not just giving, but giving up something. Yet as I have examined my own life, I have become increasingly aware that I do not know what love really looks like. I say that I love God, but what does that look like? I say I love others, but what does that look like.

Over the next few weeks I hope to look more closely at what love really looks like using 1 Corinthians 13 as a guide. As I consider the question, I will attempt to approach it from a biblical perspective. Considering first that “we love, because God first loved us” (1 Jn 4:19). Then I will proceed to show who we should demonstrate that love to God and to others. So for each characteristic of love I will attempt to answer three questions:

  1. How does God show love to us? 
  2. How do we show love to God? 
  3. How do we show love to others?
