“concerning His Son, who was born of a descendant of David according to the flesh,” (Romans 1:3)

When was the last time that you emphasized the Christ’s role as king when you talked to someone about the gospel. I can say for myself that I have spent lots of time thinking about the fact that Jesus “was born.” The significance of His becoming a man is essential for our salvation. It was because He became a man that He is able to identify with our weaknesses and the temptations that we encounter (Heb. 2:16-18, 4:15). Even more, He was made like us in all things, “so that He might become a merciful and faithful high priest in things pertaining to God, to make propitiation for the sins of His people.”

If Christ was not a man, He would not make a very effective mediator between God and man, because we would still not be able to approach God. The Scripture is clear that no sinful being can approach God and live. For this reason, Israel stood and the foot of Mt. Sinai and waited while Moses acted as the mediator of the law. Yet even Moses was not allowed to see the fullness of God, but merely the coattails of His glory. But Christ is a better mediator than Moses, because as the Son of God, He has full accesses to the Father. Even more, He has seen the fullness of God and experience the delight of being in the presence of God. And so it is because of His identification with us as men and His relationship with God as both Son and Sacrifice and the we may boldly approach the throne of grace.

See already I have said much of His humanity, but what of Him being a King? He “born of a descendant of David.” Maybe in our naivety as Americans (or at least as non-Jews), we miss the significance of that statement. But a first century Jew would have surely understood it. They would have remembered the Lord’s words to David:

“When your days are fulfilled that you must go to be with your fathers, that I will set up one of your descendants after you, who will be of your sons; and I will establish his kingdom. He shall build for Me a house, and I will establish his throne forever. I will be his father and he shall be My son; and I will not take My lovingkindness away from him, as I took it from him who was before you. But I will settle him in My house and in My kingdom forever, and his throne shall be established forever.”  (1 Chr 17:11-14, emphasis mine)

While discussing Christ humanity is an important aspect of the gospel, I hope that we will spend more time telling people of “The King.” Let us not shy back from telling people that Christ came into the world not only to save it, but to rule over it. In fact, salvation is considered synonymous with belonging to the kingdom (Gal. 5:21, Eph. 5:5, 1 Cor. 15:24, 50). Clearly, Christ must be Savior and Lord. For we have been redeemed so that we might be His people, and He might be our King and submit ourselves willingly to His leadership.

